Skip to content

The first time ever I saw your face, Marti

12 settembre 2014

Dedicated to my gorgeous Marti, I already found this song many times during this 2014… but probably only a few of you remember WHY it is famous now. A little help is good, anyway: it’s a soundtrack.

This song, originally written in 1957 by Ewan MacColl as a love song for Peggy Seeger, was popularized by Roberta Flack in 1972 in a version that became a breakout hit for the singer. The song first appeared on Flack’s 1969 album FIRST TAKE. Flack’s rendition was much slower than the original, being about twice the duration.

Marti08

The first time ever I saw your face
I thought the sun rose in your eyes
And the moon and the stars were the gifts you gave
To the dark and the endless skies, my love
To the dark and the endless skies

And the first time ever I kissed your lips
I felt the earth move in my hand
Like the trembling heart of a captive bird
That was there at my command, my love
That was there at my command, my love

And the first time ever I lay with you
I felt your heart so close to mine
And I knew our joy would fill the earth
And last till the end of time, my love
And it would last till the end of time, my love

The first time ever I saw your face
Your face
Your face
Your face

No comments yet

Rispondi

