Skip to content

The importance of Breast Cancer screening – Amy Robach’s story

15 novembre 2013

La giornalista newyorkese Amy Robach è stata sottoposta a screening mammografico in diretta, a scopo fondamentalmente dimostrativo… ma l’esame è risultato positivo e diagnostico per tumore al seno. Questa è una storia a lieto fine di questi giorni, qui nella Grande Mela. Vi riporto parte dell’articolo apparso su ABC news, ma troverete anche l’articolo completo al link in fondo alla pagina.

Immagine: dalla rete (soletron.com)

Immagine: dalla rete (soletron.com)

Una fortuna della sfortuna, insomma! La consapevolezza nei confronti del tumore al seno sta crescendo negli ultimi anni, ma non è ancora abbastanza! Una storia che potrebbe essere anche uno stimolo per tutti(e) coloro che non sono convinte dell’importanza della regolarità in questi controlli.

I remember exactly where I was when I got the call from a “Good Morning America” producer. I was about to interview Marie Monville, the wife of the Amish school shooter, in the bucolic setting of Lancaster, Pa. She was speaking out about the senseless horror that happened in the most unlikely of places.

I was focused on what was about to be an emotional interview regarding life after tragedy, when our producer asked me if she could make a sensitive request: “Amy, next week we’d like you to do the first ever live television mammogram for ‘GMA’ Goes Pink day. You’re 40, the age women should start getting mammograms. Would you even consider it?”

It felt like a strange thing to consider given where I was and what I was about to do, but oddly now, it all feels connected.

For the past 20 years, sadly, a large part of my job deals in tragedy — other peoples’ tragedies — but never my own.

That day, when I was asked to do something I really didn’t want to do, something I had put off for more than a year, I had no way of knowing that I was in a life-or-death situation.

Sitting in that kitchen with Marie Monville, I had cancer and didn’t know it. In fact, I would have considered it virtually impossible that I would have cancer. I work out, I eat right, I take care of myself and I have very little family history; in fact, all of my grandparents are still alive.

So in the days to follow, if several producers and even Robin Roberts herself hadn’t convinced me that doing this on live television would save lives, I would never have been able to save my own.

So on Oct. 1, I had my first mammogram, in front of millions of people.

After breathing a big sigh of relief once it was done, my breath was taken away only a few weeks later.

I thought I was going back in for a few follow-up images, only to find out in a matter of hours that I had breast cancer.

[…]

The doctors told me bluntly: “That mammogram just saved your life.”

[…]

I can only hope my story will […] inspire every woman who hears it to get a mammogram, to take a self exam. No excuses. It is the difference between life and death.

Trovate l’articolo completo al link seguente:
For the full-text article, follow the link below:

http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/health/2013/11/11/abc-news-amy-robach-reveals-breast-cancer-diagnosis/

Informazioni utilissime anche sul sito: http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org/

No comments yet

Rispondi

